Loading Events

« All Events

Youth Art Contest

April 1 - April 5

The North Carolina Azalea Festival Youth Art Contest is an annual art contest showcasing the amazing artistic talents of the youth in our community. Each year over 300 area public, private, and home-schooled elementary, middle school, and high school students submit their artwork to the contest, illustrating the traditions of the North Carolina Azalea Festival that mean the most to them. The winning artists (and second and third place) in all divisions receive various notable prizes, and some schools are even treated to a visit from the Azalea Festival Official Artist.  Top place artists in each division will have their work showcased on the Azalea Festival website, and are invited to Raleigh to attend the Governor’s Press Conference with the Azalea Festival entourage.  The Top 15 entries in each division are exhibited during the Azalea Festival at the Community Arts Center in the Historic Hannah Block USO Building. These artists also receive a complimentary ticket to the April Thalian Association Children’s Theatre (TACT) production.

Elementary School Application

Middle School Application

High School Application


2019 Winners

Grades K-2 Elementary Division Winner: Jessie Garriott
Jessie is a vivacious 2ndgrader who attends Cape Fear Academy. She says that PE and Art are her favorite subjects because she loves to run and to paint. Jessie participates in youth races with her family and won a Fun Run race at her old school in New York City just before she moved to Wilmington last summer with her parents, two sisters, and new puppy Gracie. She is a competitive gymnast and reports that the vault is her favorite apparatus. Jessie loves to draw and paint and particularly likes to incorporate flowers and patterns in shades of pinks, purples, and blues, into her artwork. In her spare time, she likes playing with her sisters and her puppy, building forts, and going to the beach.


Grades 3-5 Elementary Division Winner: Diane Peralta

Diane is a happy, funny, multi-talented 5thgrader from Bellamy Elementary. Her favorite subject in school is reading, so it is no surprise that her favorite school activities are serving as a Library helper and an AIG teacher helper. Diane has been drawing since she was a little girl and goes nowhere without her sketch pad. She likes to draw realistic pictures and especially likes to draw eyes. Her artwork has been displayed in the District Attorney’s office and will soon adorn the cover of the Bellamy yearbook. She also enjoys singing in her school chorus, playing soccer with her dad, and going to the beach. She has two older sisters, two cats, and two dogs. She hopes to become an anesthesiologist one day because she wants to be part of a team that saves lives.



Middle School Division Winner: Ella Johnson

Ella is a 7th grade Noble Middle School girl on the go. At school, she enjoys Math. Out of school, she plays soccer for a Wilmington Hammerhead travel team, runs, surfs, swims, snorkels, and is working towards a SCUBA certification. She has an older sister, three dogs and two cats. She also enjoys drawing and painting and hanging out with her friends in the neighborhood. Ella and a girlfriend recently created a non-profit organization called LEAP –Love Every Adopted Pet. LEAP makes dog cookies and donates its profits to local dog charities.


High School Division Winner: Cheyenne Newkirk

Cheyenne is an11th grader at Hoggard High School. She has an older brother and a younger sister. Her favorite subject in school is Physics because she likes the way it integrates math with science. She enjoys drawing, especially detailed drawings with fine point pens, with realistic portrayals as her go-to. In her spare time, she runs track on her high school team and on the Port City Track Club team (100m and 400m hurdles), creates pottery, and tutors younger kids in Spanish. She hopes one day to become a pediatrician but has not ruled out a career in the arts, maybe as an animator or graphic designer. She loves to travel and has her eye set on visiting Europe sometime soon.


K-2 Elementary Division:

1st place-  Jessie Garriott, 2nd Grade, Cape Fear Academy

2nd place–  Nealie Ruttkay, 1st Grade, Bradley Creek Elementary

3rd place-  Helena Watkins, 2nd grade, Wrightsville Beach Elementary

HM- Nainika Takkallapelli, 2nd grade, Cedar Fork Elementary

HM – Ichika Sakamoto, 2nd grade, College Park Elementary


3-5 Elementary Division:

1st place-  Diana Peralta, 5th Grade, Bellamy Elementary

2nd place- Thet Khaing, 4th grade, Blair Elementary

3rd place- Sophia Magne, 5th grade, Parsley Elementary

HM- Marie Ko, 3rd grade, Marvin Elementary

HM- Madison Mintegui, 5th grade, Bellamy Elementary

HM- Isabella Granda, 5th grade, Eaton Elementary


Middle School Division:

1st place-  Ella Johnson, 7th Grade, Noble Middle School

2nd place- Shea Hoffhacker, 8th grade,        Roland-Grise

3rd place- Ellie Ko, 6th grade, Marvin Ridge Middle School

HM  Sky Gaerlan, 8th grade, Noble Middle School

HM  Eden Asher, 8th grade, Wilmington Academy of Arts and Sciences

HM  Barbara Grace Hunter, 8th grade, Wilmington Christian Academy


High School Divison:

1st place- Cheyenne Newkirk, 11th, Hoggard High School

2nd place- Brooke Sanderford, 11th grade, Cape Fear Academy

3rd place-   Ava Whitt,  9th grade, Ardrey Kell High School

HM   Nicole Durham, 11th grade, Wilmington Christian Academy

HM   Anabel Sanchez, 11th grade, Career Readiness Academy at Mosley Performance Learning Center


Past Winners:

2018: Avni Choudepally, Cedar Fork Elementary ( K-2 Elementary School Winner )

2018: Julianna Dickerson, Blair Elementary ( 3-5 Elementary School Winner)

2018: Kate Spivey, Noble Middle School (Middle School Winner)

2018: Katherine Neilsen, Laney High School (High School Winner)

2017: Olivia Brown, Holly Tree Elementary (Elementary School Winner)

2017: Delilah Mills, Cape Fear Academy (Middle School Winner)

2016: Elajandra Torres, Carolina Beach Elementary (Elementary School Winner)

2016: Audrey Mase, Roland-Grise Middle School (Middle School Winner)

2015: Becky Girolami, Parsley Elementary (Elementary School Winner)

2015: Max Brinker, Cape Fear Center For Inquiry (Middle School Winner)

2014: Ruthie Wainwright, Wilmington Academy of Arts and Sciences (Elementary School Winner)

2014: Sylvia Atwood, Cape Fear Academy (Middle School Winner)

2013: Margaret Dill, Cape Fear Academy (Elementary School Winner)

2013: Maddie Porter, Cape Fear Academy (Middle School Winner)

2012: Cameron Holmes, Bellamy Elementary

2011: Lemir Moore, Snipes Academy of Art and Design

2010: Katie Girolami, Cape Fear Academy


April 1
April 5
Event Category: